A valid PolarExpress card, or a valid library card from any Alaskan library participating in the ALC, is required to check materials out from the library.

Do not lend your card, or library materials you have checked out, to anyone! YOU and only YOU are responsible for items checked out on your card, and YOU will have to pay for missing or lost items. Also, no one else may check out on your card, unless you have a signed proxy.

Eligibility  ] [  Registration  ] [  Loan Periods  ] [  Fines ]


  • UA Students, Staff and Faculty.  Students, staff, and faculty of UAF, UAA, and UAS are eligible to borrow materials with a valid PolarExpress Card (UAF), Wolf Card (UAA), or Whale Card (UAS).

  • Off-Campus & Rural UAF Students, Staff and Faculty. Off-campus & rural UAF students, staff, and faculty are eligible to borrow materials using our Interlibrary Loan service.

  • Alaska Residents Belonging to an ALC Library. If you are an Alaska resident and your public library belongs to the Alaska Library Catalog (ALC) consortium, you may check out materials with your public library card. You must be in good standing with your home library.

  • Other Alaska Residents. If you are an Alaska resident, but your home library is not a member of the ALC, you may be eligible to borrow a limited number of items through the Alaska Libraries Reciprocal Borrowing Program; check with a supervisor at the Circulation Desk for further details.

  • Guest Researchers & Visiting Faculty Affiliated with the University of Alaska Fairbanks. If you are not employed by the University of Alaska, but are affiliated with a campus department doing research either on campus or with other campus researchers, you will need to obtain a PolarExpress card (or Courtesy Card) and have your sponsoring department fill out a "Visiting Guest Scholar Sponsorship form" (see below), in order to be eligible to check out materials. Bring the form and your PolarExpress card in person to the Circulation Desk. Once a Patron Registration form is filled out (we need your departmental address as well as your home permanent address, as well as the date your contract ends), you may check out books, check out audiovisual-format material, and use our Interlibrary Loan service. This privilege does not include the use of our media equipment; departments should contact the Rasmuson Library Media Desk if there is a special need for such equipment.


All UA students and employees are registered automatically and can borrow with their UA ID cards, while Alaskans with valid library cards from ALC member libraries can borrow using those cards. For these groups, no special registration is needed.

Registration is required for

These patrons need to download and complete a Rasmuson Library registration form (see below). Bring the form AND your library card (PolarExpress ID or other Alaskan library card) to the Rasmuson Library Circulation Desk.

Rasmuson Library Registration Forms:

  • Alaska Library Reciprocal Borrowing Cardholder [.pdf] [.doc]
  • Visiting Guest Scholar Sponsorship form [.pdf] [.doc] - must also fill out UAF Faculty or Staff form
  • UAF Faculty or Staff (for visiting researchers) [.pdf] [.doc]

Loan Periods

Rules differ for distance-delivery and reciprocal-borrowing patrons.

Category Books Compact Discs Films, DVDs, &
Media Equipment Limits
Undergraduates 28 days 7 days 7 days 3 days
Except for data projectors which circulate for 4 hours
50 books; 5 ea. DVD/VHS; 25 CDs
Graduates 60 days 7 days 7 days 3 days
Except for data projectors which circulate for 4 hours
50 books; 5 ea. DVD/VHS; 25 CDs
Faculty 120 days 7 days 7 days  3 days
Except for data projectors which circulate for 24 hours
50 books; 5 ea. DVD/VHS; 50 CDs
Staff 60 days 7 days 7 days 3 days
Except for data projectors which circulate for 4 hours
50 books; 5 ea. DVD/VHS; 25 CDs
Non-UAF Patrons from other Alaskan (ALC) Libraries 28 days 7 days 7 days No media checkout except for headphones and video remotes, in-library only 50 books; 5 ea. DVD/VHS; 25 CDs


Charges for overdue, damaged, or lost material are listed below.

  • For each lost or destroyed item there is a $95 minimum charge.
  • If the overdue item is returned in good condition, there will be no charge (excluding media equipment and reserves).
  • Overdue media equipment accrues fines at the rate of $1.00 per hour (or any fraction of an hour) and may result in permanent loss of equipment checkout privileges. Refer to the Media Equipment Overdue Policy for details.
  • Overdue reserve materials accrue fines at the rate of 50 cents per hour, starting at the top of the hour after the item is overdue.
This page was last modified on March 29, 2021